Gaming computer for under $400-$450....can build my own

coldsoulkiller

Reputable
Jan 13, 2015
i'm a 16 year old who just got his first look into PC gaming because of taking a college chemistry course in high school. Taking this class gave me a Lenovo X131e Chromebook to use for the year, and it sucks...But i have a job and am looking for a computer to be able to game on, but i don't know what i need. Obviously i want the most bang for my buck so if you guys could tell me what i should get to build my laptop that would be amazing :). i realize i'm kinda rambling so if you have any questions please leave a comment and i will do my best to reply with something you can understand :p also my step dad is a IT guy so he can build it for me. TY for ALL of your help..this is my first time doing this on a website like this. And also whatever programs and stuff i need.... i really don't know what i'm doing.links to the other discussions because i dont know what catagory to put it under.. http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-2479827/gaming-computer-400-450-build.html http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-2479836/gaming-computer-400-450-build.html i really am not looking to play PC games like diablo or minecraft .. im into more in browser mmorgp games right now..like dragoneternity or dawn of the dragons.. but eventually id like to play big PC games..

coldsoulkiller

Reputable
Jan 13, 2015

i guess not but i like laptops because of their portability.... and because the only place i could put a desktop most likely would be in my cold cold basement..i don't like the cold

but please leave ideas for both

RobCrezz

Expert
Ambassador

$450 doesnt really get you anything "gaming" in terms of a laptop, unless you look at a used one.

Heres a desktop build for around $430, but doesnt include windows, peripherals, DVD drive (but this is only a few $$) or monitor/tv.
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/xjxsWZ