Best cpu and gpu for Video editing ?

rikoma17

Honorable
Jan 15, 2015
hey everyone so im a uni student and im right now upgrading my system so i was thinking what is the best cpu and gpu for video editing. i was looking at a fx-9590 and r9 290 are those good options for my case?

sammy sung

Distinguished
For just video editing?

You'd be better served with a 4790K. Or if you have the budget for it, I'd go the ddr4 route and get a 5820K with something a bit more simple like a 280/280X. But even a 750ti would suffice to meet these ends

dyl47

Reputable
Oct 2, 2014
Hold up, what programs are you using? Premiere and Adobe programs utilize CUDA cores better than open CL, meaning that Nvidia is a better choice than ATI for graphics cards. Sony Vegas on the other hand, runs SLOWER with GPU acceleration on with a Nvidia card, so you must get ATI. It is basically open CL exclusive.

GPU is not important in video rendering. It can help a bit, but video cards are more important for things like 3d modeling such as Maya and Cinema 4D.

Do not go the AMD route unless you are willing to give up speed. If you are on a tight, tight, budget, get the FX-8350 paired with a GPU that will compliment whatever programs you use (once again, please tell us)

If I could re-do my build again, I would no doubt get the 5820k. It is the first time EVER that we have seen a 6 core processor become affordable to the average user... For only 380 bucks you are getting an absolute powerhouse for video editing. The DDR4 ram and x99 motherboards is as close to future proofing as you could possibly get. Depending on what you need you could get one of the most efficient machines imaginable for around $1000 bucks.

Go the AMD route and you will receive significantly slower rendering times, but you will have a lot more money to spend on partying :p