New Processor, New Motherboard, More RAM, or new Graphics Card?

jordan1794

Reputable
Dec 21, 2014
Ok so I have a gaming computer that my brother started building about 7 years ago.
The newest component(other than the hard drive) is the graphics card, ATI Radeon HD 5870.

So the computer still runs great for day to day tasks.
However Some of the newer games are starting to put a little strain on my system
(When he built it he could run ANY game on max settings at 60FPS)
Even Skyrim, at max settings I drop to around 35 FPS when I'm in an open space with a lot of things moving around.

Thing is, being a college student, I won't have the money to build a new computer anytime in the next 3 years.

So I was wondering what you guys think my bottleneck is, and what would give me the biggest boost for the money.

All my stats(If you need something more let me know)
(Got all this from CPU-Z, I'm not 100% sure if all of this is important or not)

Oddly enough CPU-Z lists 1GB of Graphics RAM
32 bit Dx Diag lists 4 GB
64 Bit dx Diag lists less than 1 GB

10945685_10203236178856850_1270751827001077694_n.jpg

AnonymousONIagent

Reputable
Jan 26, 2015
Everything but the memory looks horrendously out of date. You'll probably have difficulty achieving any sizable increase in performance by only replacing one part of your system.

You could probably get a decent AMD CPU, motherboard, and graphics card combo that'll give you a decent performance increase over what you have for about $500, perhaps a bit less. That should be plenty as long as you aren't doing any seriously CPU-intensive tasks, in which case you should probably avoid AMD CPUs.