Advice needed - 1st custom built PC for Maya and After Effects

frogfucious

Reputable
Feb 19, 2015
I've been reading the forums and noticed how many knowledgable people here are nice enough to offer their advice on helping build custom PCs. I have never built one before but I would like to because my budget is limited and I am confident that with some direction, I can do it.

The purposes of this build would be primarily for 3D/ motion graphics work. Heavy Maya rendering, and using the bifrost plugin, heavy After Effects rendering using the Element 3D plugin, Zbrush 64bit, Realflow. I would like to be able to work in After Effects as smooth and fast as possible, and also be able to chew up 3D renders. I don't mind if I can't play games maxed out - this is for work.

My budget is around $2,500 - $3,000 give or take.

Certain components I would like are the following:

-A 256GB SSD for my software
-A 3TB HD for my data (or more?)
-At least an i7 quad core 4ghz (Or should I go 6 core? Are more cores more important or higher ghz?)
-A good video card to handle the work I listed above(GTX 980?)
-64GB RAM (or is 32 enough?)
-A new monitor (2560x1440 would be nice, dual monitors would be great)
-A DVD drive/burner
-USB3 ports
-Speakers (don't care what kind)
-Keyboard (don't care what kind)
-Mouse (3 button for maya)
-Case (something relatively quiet)
-Some kind of liquid cooling (needed?)
-Windows (I was hoping to create this once windows 10 is released so I have time.)
-motherboard - no idea
-power supply - no idea

My problem is I am not sure if the components I listed will play nice together, or if I even chose ones that match my needs? You will also not offend me if you say something I listed makes absolutely no sense or if my budget is way off. Please feel free to be as honest as you like. I really appreciate anyone taking the time to make any suggestions. Thanks in advance!

Chris_Cruise

Reputable
Feb 21, 2015