Need advice on RAM and graphics cards for PC I'm building.

sublimerule

Reputable
Mar 26, 2015
So I'm building a gaming rig. This is my first time ever building a PC, I'm excited, and I need a few tips. I have a stick of 8gb hyper-x fury ram, and a AMD Sapphire Tri-X R9 290 graphics card. I was thinking about buying a second graphics card to boost performance, and I'm wondering if it would be okay to buy either a better or inferior graphics card, or whether I should buy another exact same one.

Also, I think 16gb RAM would be a bit overkill, but is there anything wrong with putting an 8gb and a 4gb stick of RAM in there to make 12gb? And lastly, I have an NH-U14s fan, do you think that will be adequate cooling, or do you think I should fit two of them?

And any general advice on my build is welcomed.

Thanks!

p_nut_uk

Reputable
Oct 28, 2014
What is your target resolution?

Single more powerful cards are always preferred over SLI/Crossfire as the games run smoother.

It's not impossible to mix ram but you may encounter some problems and/or stability issues. 8GB is enough but if you must then by a matching pair with what you already have.

sz0ty0l4

Distinguished
honestly i always advice to evade dual gpu setups like cfx or sli. you better just keep your graphics card if you are fine with it, if you need more power then you could sell it and buy a stronger one.

sublimerule

Reputable
Mar 26, 2015

So you and the other poster both advise against using two graphics cards? I don't really have a target resolution in mind, I don't know enough about it to be honest. But I will be playing it on a 4K ultra HD tv, so there is potential to run games at 1620p, but I'm not sure if the rig I'm building would be powerful enough to do that. I got my graphics card because it was a good deal at the time, but if you think I should sell it and upgrade, I'll do that.