IT and Accounting Career

specks05

Honorable
Mar 31, 2012
Hello,

I am trying to figure out what position would best fit my talents and interests. I am currently a Systems Admin but started out as an Accountant. I have a BA in both Accounting and Finance and Net+ Certified. I enjoy doing both and really love business but I am not sure what career path best combines these two disciplines. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

specks

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
You would do well in financial planning software such as Oracle Hyperion Planning and HFM, or SAP BPC. You would do well to try and get your certification from either one in the newest version to make yourself marketable, however you should be able to find a job as a Financial Analyst or Budget Analyst running one of these systems without that certification. I started that way and my job paid for my Oracle cert. Having both an accounting and IT background is worth its weight in gold in this field because you can troubleshoot problems, and you understand what the numbers are supposed to look like and how everything should work.

If you have any questions let me know I've been doing this very job for 9 years at 3 companies (2 of them very big household names).

specks05

Honorable
Mar 31, 2012
I have looked into these fields in the past before going back to school for IT. Where would you suggest starting in terms of job description? There are different levels of each type of analyst position. I don't want to start at the bottom as I do have experience. Also, I am having a hard time seeing where my technical ability would be of benefit other than just knowing how the software should perform while using it. What kind of growth and what positions can this career path lead to? I am just looking for a good fit with a good salary. lol. But aren't we all.

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!