New monitor: thoughts (1080p, 60/144hz, tn/ips)

hairydruidy

Reputable
Sep 8, 2014
The last couple of days I have been reading reviews all over the Internet to find out what's better about certain monitors and what different types there are.

Things I read about:
tn/ips (gaming/reduced lag vs better colours/ photo editing)
60/144 hz: if you get more than 60fps go for 144hz (no screen tearing or whatever)
ips glow effects (is this still an issue with newer monitors?)
input lag (is 1/2 ms really needed)

background & current gear:
I have always had 2 screens (I'm a programmer, and when I game I usually like to watch something on youtube as well). I mainly play mmorpgs or single player games (any good titles, except for cs/cod stuff)
My oldest LCD flat screen (which was still 10 cm thick) got replaced with an LG Flatron e2531 LED for 1080p support. The old screen was set up as my 2nd monitor. About 3 months ago the old one kind of blew up. (It started making noices, smelling and smoking)

So, my current LG is a tn panel 5ms input 1080p 60hz. I play a lot of games but I am nowhere near a pro hardcore gamer. Back in the days I read reviews for this LG and been happy about it ever since.

I guess I'll have to mention that I have a gaming pc setup and an asus r9 290 cu II oc as a graphic card.

Budget
Preferably less than 200 euro (150£)

Requirements (or rather difficulties)
I don't really know what kind of monitor I want. I have been looking at both tn and ips panels. I don't really want a monitor solely for gaming so I guess I'll lean more towards ips panels.
23/24 inch
If this second monitor ends up being better than my primary current LG one, I will use it as a primary monitor to game on.
As a casual gamer and movie/serie fanatic I would prefer really nice looking colours and lots of details in dark environments. The latter I find a bit lacking in my current monitor.

Possible monitors:
LG 24MP55HQ-P (+- 150 euro) (ips, 1080p, 5 ms, 72% Gamut, 60hz)