Load drop during IntelBurn test

Ronin2300

Reputable
May 6, 2015
Hey... First of all I'll say that I'm a noob at overclocking but began playing around with it a few days ago.

My setup is as follows:

MOBO: Asus P6X58D-E
CPU: Intel i7 950 @ 3,07GHz
RAM: 12 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz
Cooling: Corsair H100i

I feel like I have a pretty good overclock now at 4259,16 GHz and are now running tests with IntelBurn to see if it's stable.

I've set it to run 30 passes at the High setting but at #17 it stalls and the CPU loads drop to between 4% - 20% and the core speed is switching back and forth between 2433GHZ and 3042GHz.

Other than that everything is working fine and I don't get any errors or anything to help me figure out what's wrong. The test looks like it's still running but stuck at pass 17.

Anyone with some input on what might be the problem?

setup.jpg

Since you have not listed where your load temperatures are reaching, just from your explanation your temperatures are getting too high and your CPU is throttling to protect itself from your settings.

Processor load performance dropping is usually a sure sign of CPU throttling!

You do not need to run IBT for a 30 pass setup?

Why are you doing that?

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-2345618/reaching-cpu-overclocking-stability.html

I know you are new to overclocking so you need to investigate further into what you're doing and learn why these things happen, then you'll be able to get much further with your overclocking.

You'll only get as far overclocking as your cooling solution will allow, not taking temperatures into overclocking perspective is a sure sign of inexperience, I'm not trying to offend you, just get you to open your eyes to the understanding necessary to be overclocking in the first place, or suffer the consequences at your own expense.

Ronin2300

Reputable
May 6, 2015
The temps topped at around 84 degrees celcius under full load.