First Build: i7-5820k For 4k Video Editing & Light Gaming

avfreedman

Reputable
May 8, 2015
<$2000 PC Great Video Editing PC (I think? First PC Build!) via Adobe CC and Gaming

As a professional videographer and part-time gamer, I was tired of leaving my shining MacPro (paid for by my employers) at work and coming home to my dated mid2011 mac mini for video editing. Plus, I had a second budget gaming pc for light gaming (MMO's like EVE, ESO, and FFXIV) and I was tired of going back and forth between them. So I decided to merge both my computing needs into one computer, despite the fact I've never built a computer before - What could possibility go wrong?! So, with mouse in hand and browser bookmarks ready, I shot down the rabbit hole of possibilities. After two-three days of researching, I think this "Little Cube That Could" is exactly what I've been looking for and within my $2,000 budget.

Quick List:
Intel Core i7-5820K 3.3GHz 6-Core Processor
Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
EVGA Micro Micro ATX LGA2011-3 Motherboard
EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB Superclocked ACX 2.0 Video Card
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 60GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Update: [strike]Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive[/strike] Samsung 850 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Western Digital BLACK SERIES 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Western Digital BLACK SERIES 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Fractal Design Node 804 MicroATX Mid Tower Case
Corsair 750W 80+ Platinum Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Noctua NF-F12 PWM 55.0 CFM 120mm Fan

See the builds here:

PC Part Picker List:
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/pkZ9Lk

NewEgg Wishlist:
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=27843306

Let me know if I'm missing something here!