PC died... was it the videocard?

KGlintborg

Reputable
Jun 2, 2015
Hey all.
First time poster so go easy on me, since I’m by no means an expert in computer software and/or hardware.
A little over 2 months ago I bought myself a new computer, since the old one died.
Intel® Core™ i5-4690 4x3.50GHz (Turbo 3.9GHz) 6MB cache
Kingston 16GB DDR3-1866 HyperX Fury RAM
500GB SSD Samsung 850 EVO
Asus GeForce GTX970 4GB GDDR5 OC
(here it is. https://www.mm-vision.dk/visiongaming/raptor-ultra-gamer-computer )
Sorry it’s in Danish
This came with a code for The Witcher 3: Wild hunt
Never since released (19-5-2015) I would have, as many others, a black screen after 5-30mins played. Tho for my it only happened once a day, which was when I got home from work. After that, I could play until midnight with no problems. Game was running smooth, no weird lags or anything other than that one black screen.
Then this last Friday (29-5-2015) it simply wouldn’t start. I could press start, but that was it. No respons to monitor, no sounds, fans were all running and even with no screen, even typing in my password I didn’t get the “magic” sound off logging in… couldn’t even shut it down holding the power button down. Only cutting the power worked.
I tried 2 different monitors and cables but nothing. Also tried taking out some of the hardware (videocard, RAM etc and put it back)… Nothing.

My question is.
Did witcher 3 kill my PC? Or did it tip it over the egde? Thought that PC should easily run it.
Drivers were up-to-date and most programs were too.
Anyone that might have an idea?

PS: I sent it back to the company for repair since they couldn’t help over the phone, will ofc update when I know something.

OK, so I will tell you that Witcher did NOT kill your computer. This system should of had no problem playing this game, all the specs are more than powerful enough for it.