Need Help Finding a Book about the Nitty-Gritty of Computer Hardware

Kitten_Taco

Honorable
Nov 25, 2013
I'm a computer hobbyist, and I agreed to help someone build a computer. However, after scanning some sites, I realized that when I look at a product, such as RAM, I have no idea what most of the words in the item title (let alone the specs) are referring to. For example, "G.SKILL Ares Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2400 (PC3 19200)" . Obviously, I understand that its 2 8 gig sticks of RAM, and that its DDR3, but, what does the SDRAM DDR3 2400 (PC3 19200) mean? This is a reoccurring theme across the board with hardware. I feel like I'm missing out on buying high quality hardware because I don't understand the difference in clock speeds between to GPUs, or what difference latency makes between RAM. By knowing that these pieces of information are there, and not knowing what they mean, I feel like I'm really not "doing this right", despite having built PCs before. So, what are some books (or websites) that can help explain these things to me?
Thanks,
Kitten_Taco

Kewlx25

Distinguished
Wiki is a great place to start.

"DDR3 2400 (PC3 19200)" - This is just a way to say "DDR3 1866" is equivalent to "PC3 14900". Like saying "CRT (Cathode Ray Tube)".

DDR3 = PC3
1866 is the frequency = 14900 is the bandwidth
Frequency and bandwidth are directly related. A 10% increase in frequency will result in a 10% increase in bandwidth and visa versa.

Technically, 1866mhz is the external frequency on the DDR3 interface. The actual memory is running a at a much slower frequency but an inversely wider data path to make up the difference. An example would be a 100mhz chip that is 16bits wide can move 100mil * 16bits worth of data, or 1.6gigabits/s. The external bus may run at 800mhz but only be 2 bits wide, which is also 1.6gigabits/sec.