Very first build (budget), needs advice/critique.

athom678

Honorable
Jun 12, 2015
Let me start off by apologizing if this is in the wrong section, I just created my account a few minutes ago.

I've recently decided to build my first gaming rig, which is something I've been wanting to do for about a decade now, but couldn't for one reason or another.

I compiled a list on pcpartpicker (link included below), but as I'm really new to building, and hardware in general, I wanted to see if my build was sound before jumping in and spending all that money.

My budget is ~$950, with a little flexibility either way. I do not need any peripherals (mouse, monitor, etc). I will need an OS however. I plan on playing newer games (Witcher 3, GTA V, Skyrim, etc). Running everything on ultra would be nice, but as long as I can run it comfortably, that's perfectly okay with me.

The build: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/athom678/saved/#view=T6XG3C

The biggest question I had is if I should go ahead and buy the psu I have in the parts list, or continue using my old psu ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817226005 ). I tried researching it, but I'm worried that it won't be compatible with the motherboard or something as I wasn't able to find much about it. I do not plan on overclocking this rig anytime soon.

Sorry for being a little lengthy, and thanks for helping out a noob.

definitely change the PSU the one you have now is low quality.

Best Price/Performance PC for your budget

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($242.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: ASRock H97 Anniversary ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($69.89 @ OutletPC)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 850 EVO-Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($67.98 @ B&H)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($49.89 @ OutletPC)