How to tell if my Mobo can support the CPU/GPU I want to upgrade to...?

newcomer82

Reputable
Jun 23, 2015
Hi all,

This is a tough one, as I'm no hardware expert, else I wouldn't be on this forum.

Through a chat with Dell, even they didn't seem to have an answer to my question. I would like to upgrade my CPU to either an Intel i5-**** or i7-**** and my GPU to an NVidia GeForce GTX *** ... the asterisks represent the fact that I'm not yet certain of those specifics as I'm not sure if this is even feasible yet.

The representative said I'd need a PCI Express 2.0 for the GPU and I don't know what for the CPU. The kicker is that I want BOTH to be compatible, not just one or the other. If this can't be, I'd rather just get a new motherboard.

I suppose my question is, how do I determine if my motherboard can support both the CPU/GPU I want and if both can't be supported, how do I figure out what motherboard will suit the components I already have...?

I don't want to purchase a whole new computer when quite a bit of what I already own is just fine. The CPU and GPU (and motherboard if necessary) are all I'm looking to upgrade.

If it helps, here's some info I gathered on my current configuration:

PHP:
Computer Model
Inspiron 560

BIOS Vendor
Dell Inc.

BIOS Version
A06

BIOS Date
12/1/2010

OS Version
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 

Manufacturer
Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E6700 @ 3.20GHz

Clock Speed
3.2Ghz

L2 Cache Size

Available Memory
73.31 %

Page File Size
16,312.2MB

Available Page File
99.71 %

Virtual Memory
16,312.2MB

Available Virtual Memory
86.16 %

DIMM0
2,048.0MB

DIMM1
2,048.0MB

DIMM2
2,048.0MB

DIMM3
2,048.0MB 

DVD/CD-ROM Drives

HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GH70N ATA Device

Disk Drives
ST31000524AS ATA Device

Generic- Compact Flash USB Device
Generic- MS/MS-Pro USB Device
Generic- SD/MMC USB Device
Generic- SM/xD Picture USB Device

Display Adapters
Intel(R) G45/G43 Express Chipset

IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers
ATA Channel 0
ATA Channel 1