Pricing for GTX 770, GA-970A-D3, and FX 8350.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hendi91

Reputable
May 27, 2015
I have an EVGA GTX 770 2GB that I have already replaced and I'm not sure what I could get for it. Also, I have been toying with the idea of making the change from AMD to Intel, but to do this I would need to sell my FX 8350 and the GA-970A-D3. I would like to get into overclocking, but this motherboard is not great for it and I am a novice so I don't want to risk damaging anything.

So I guess what I'm asking is how much could I get for each part?

Thanks.

Solution
Keep the CPU and get a Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P or ASUS Sabertooth 990FX.

The performance difference between the 8350 and an i5 4690k or even i7 4790k is small and doesn't justify the platform change and price premium. If you were coming from a x4 Phenom II or FX 4300 series, then yeah it would be worth it. But not from an 8350.

To me, for it to be worth switching from an 8350/9590 I would need to go 5820k + x99 + quad channel DDR4. At $680-$700 for CPU, MoBo and RAM, I'd rather wait to see how Zen does first.
Keep the CPU and get a Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P or ASUS Sabertooth 990FX.

The performance difference between the 8350 and an i5 4690k or even i7 4790k is small and doesn't justify the platform change and price premium. If you were coming from a x4 Phenom II or FX 4300 series, then yeah it would be worth it. But not from an 8350.

To me, for it to be worth switching from an 8350/9590 I would need to go 5820k + x99 + quad channel DDR4. At $680-$700 for CPU, MoBo and RAM, I'd rather wait to see how Zen does first.

Solution

Hendi91

Reputable
May 27, 2015

Thanks for the information. I am still new to this and I do not have the money for anything more than the i5 4690k which is what I was looking into. I'll probably look for a deal on the ASUS Sabertooth 990FX then.

WhiteSnake91

Distinguished