Is there a mini DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 cable yet?

ibjeepr

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2012
Hi,
Is there an mini DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 cable yet?
I want to connect my HD7950 to a UHD TV and get 4K @ 60hz @ 4:4:4: (I know I can't really game at that but desktop would be nice)

My HD7950 says it'll do:
DisplayPort 1.2
◾Maximum resolution: 4096x2160 @ 60 Hz per display
◾21.6 Gbps bandwidth (HBR2)
◾Quad HD/4K/UHDTV display support
◾1080p60 stereoscopic 3D (Frame Sequential Format)
HDMI® (With 4K, 3D, x.v.Color™ and Deep Color)
◾Maximum resolution: 4096x2160 @ 30 Hz
◾1080p30

I'd rather get 60hz from mDP 1.2 than only 30 from HDMI.

Solution

correct, you are not an expert on this.

his card has dp, which can output 4k @60hz. his tv has hdmi 2.0 which can accept 4k @ 60hz. BUT, currently passive (dumb/simple) adapters cannot handle the "handshake" between the devices allowing 4k @ 60hz to pass...
well, I'm no expert on this but...
only thing changing in HDMI 1.4 to 2.0 is hardware on both ends. Basically the cable itself stays same.(provided it is of good quality, there are bad cables that can't even do 4k@30hz out there)

That being said, your card doesn't really support said HDMI 2.0 output so even if your TV does and cable would support it... nope, not happening.

For the record, AMD cards have tailed a bit behind on implementing HDMI 2.0 output compared to NVIDIA

DVI and DisplayPort (and now outdated VGA) have always been the go-to PC-monitor cables. HDMI is not, and shouldn't be considered one. Manufacturers simply were forced to add HDMI functionality, due to the vast majority of people using them after adopting the 'HD TV' market.

The difference between HDMI 1.4 and 2.0 is bandwidth. Build quality is up to the manufacturers, there are some pretty bad ones out there.

carlosriosness

Honorable
Aug 20, 2013

correct, you are not an expert on this.