First build PC is 4 years old, looking for upgrade sugestions

nickbeef

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2015
First let me start by saying I work as a video editor who does motion graphics, so that is my focus more then gaming.

Here is my current build, it is my first build and is about 4 or 5 years old.

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
CPU: Intel Core i7 950 @3.07GHz
RAM: 12GB Corsair XMS3 3 x 4 GB 1333MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650Ti Boost
Boot drive: Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Storage drives: 2x Western Digital Black 1TB HDDs

I'm looking to upgrade when I jump to Windows 10 and I'm looking for some suggestions from you guys. I know enough to have built my own functioning PC, but not really enough to know what makes one RAM better then another. Here are some observations.

So, I use a few resource monitors and for the most part I've noticed that video editing and motion graphics work do not take much advantage of the GPU. Some effects, such as color correction, do utilize the GPU every once in a while, but mostly the heavy lifting seems to be done by the CPU. Probably not interested in upgrading here unless someone makes a very compelling argument.

At 12GB of RAM, I notice that I'm constantly maxing out my available RAM, particularly when I'm running both Premiere and After Effects. I frequently have to shut down programs to make extra room. If nothing else, I intend to upgrade here. The cheapest option would be to buy another stick of the Corsair 4GB XMS3, but for example NewEgg doesn't even sell a single stick at 4GB, so it makes me think this RAM is outdated. Amazon sells it for $33, but has great reviews. Should I go for newer faster RAM? 16GB, 24GB, or more?