Computer Build Suggestions/Recommendations

vegasmazza3

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2008
I am trying to choose parts for a PC build (which I have never done myself before) and want to make sure I am not (1) buying anything incompatible and (2) not wasting (too much) money; there is probably a (3) (4) and (5), etc. which I am not thinking of.

I want this PC to last for awhile. The one I have is currently about to hit 7 years and is pretty good for multitasking on the internet, but is pretty crummy with newer games - a new graphics card would help a lot probably, but with DDR2 and USB 2 along with only HDD, I am just going for completely new.

I want high-end, but without going to the things that you basically spend twice as much for marginal gains in performance.

What I am looking at now:
- CPU: Intel i7 5820K (or 5930K but for nearly $200 more, there doesn't seem to be much difference)
- Motherboard: I am not entirely sure on this one - I just know it needs to support the above CPU, USB 3.1 and DDR4. I am still trying to figure out what makes some motherboards $250 and others $450. I currently have an MSI which has worked well. The only other two brands I've seen are ASUS (heard of) and ASRock (haven't heard of at all).
- GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 Ti - I was originally going to do 980 but this just recently came out and seems much better for 4K (which I plan on 4K monitor).
- Memory/RAM: DDR4 a must. When I got my last one, DDR3 was just coming out and I regret it for not getting that then as it has made it harder to keep my current PC better, longer. I wasn't expecting to have my current PC this long, but now I am going to plan for that with the next one, and am therefore trying to get things that will maximize its "prime life". Looking at 16 GB - 8 GB x2 preferably, but it seems to be much more expensive (and also fewer options) than just 4 GB x4 for same performance, so I may just go with that