Input signal out of range.

Mr. Koaliti

Honorable
Nov 13, 2013
Getting this issue, not sure how to fix it. It's a fairly new monitor that my grandfather gave to me and it works great other then this one issue. I have Win10 - 64bit, with the R9 280X. I updated my drivers and that did not work. For some reason the issue stops when you mirror the display instead of extending it. It says the rec input is 1400X900 60Hz, changing it to this res or lower does not work. Can someone help me fix this issue?

Solution

It's in CCC (Catalyst Control Center), if you never used VSR, it must be the GPU scaling then. All the post-15.4 drivers automatically enable GPU Scaling as it is needed for VSR to work. In CCC, enable advanced settings and go to the display settings, one of the options has GPU scaling inside.

Mr. Koaliti

Honorable
Nov 13, 2013

The monitor is VGA whoever I am using a DVI-I adapter to use it. And can you tell me how to disable VSR? I have never used it before.

bloc97

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2010

It's in CCC (Catalyst Control Center), if you never used VSR, it must be the GPU scaling then. All the post-15.4 drivers automatically enable GPU Scaling as it is needed for VSR to work. In CCC, enable advanced settings and go to the display settings, one of the options has GPU scaling inside.

Solution

Mr. Koaliti

Honorable
Nov 13, 2013

Thank you so much, it worked.

bloc97

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2010
No problem! Glad to help!

But just to clarify for anyone else that stumbles upon this thread, what GPU Scaling does, is it upscales any non-native resolutions to the monitor's default resolution, then sends it through the video cable.
This results in a sharper and cleaner image compared to what would display if the monitor itself upscaled the image.

1024x768 Signal on a 1920x1080p Screen :

Without GPU Scaling :