Requirements of an excellent programmer to build a strong and successful career

Mantad

Reputable
Oct 3, 2014
Hey guys!

I am studying programming and a lot of other different things related to computer science.
I'm just wondering what makes a professional programmer, not talking about specific programming languages. I'm talking about the proper skills, capabilities of the person and or you can say abilities... Maybe certain amount of knowledge in maths and etc...?

What do you think? :) What kind of programmers are the most valuable ones? :)

Solution
Don't like itmoba's list fool you, some of that stuff is knowledge and can be gained by reading or practice, but "understanding" falls more into what Derza10 listed. Problem Solving.

Knowledge i something anyone can get, experience is much is harder when you're starting out, but problem solving is much harder to teach. If you're good at problem solving, you can eventually be an excellent programmer, but without it, youi'll probably be limited to only a decent programmer.

itmoba

Reputable
Aug 14, 2015
{*} Knowledge and understanding of algorithms
{*} Algorithm analysis
{*} Ability to document one's code
{*} Ability to document another's code
{*} Technical background (e.g., knowing the intricacies of a language and/or system)
{*} Understanding of user/server hardware and routing
{*} Understanding of the OS, libraries, frameworks, and APIs

Kewlx25

Distinguished
Don't like itmoba's list fool you, some of that stuff is knowledge and can be gained by reading or practice, but "understanding" falls more into what Derza10 listed. Problem Solving.

Knowledge i something anyone can get, experience is much is harder when you're starting out, but problem solving is much harder to teach. If you're good at problem solving, you can eventually be an excellent programmer, but without it, youi'll probably be limited to only a decent programmer.

Solution

itmoba

Reputable
Aug 14, 2015