Assesment of new build - medium budget gaming

NotFadeAway

Reputable
Sep 17, 2015
Hi guys,

I am looking to build my own pc and I am rather new at this (only second time, last one 5 years ago). Since I don't follow hardware news as much as I used to, I hope that to you will help with a qualified assesment of my "draft" system build.

I won't be overclocking now or in the future and my gaming at this time is limited to online FPS' such as CS: GO. Instead of raw performance I would value quietness and low energy consumption. I live in Denmark and my budget is around 1,000 - 1,200 USD. However this is flexible.

Please assess the following setup and feel free to evaluate it as a whole and/or the individiual hardware part:

CPU: i5 4590 Box (S1150)
MB: MSI Z97 PC Mate (S1150)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1600 Mhz 2 x 4 GB
GPU: Asus GTX 950 STRIX 2 GB
PSU: Corsair CX500M
SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB
Case: Fractal Design Define S

Thanks in advance - I appreciate it,

Casper

BSOD BSTD

Honorable
Nov 21, 2013
looks like a good build to me. That 950 is going to throttle it a bit though, if you can afford it, get a GTX 960, (or 970 even better)

edit: also higher frequency RAM - looks for 1866 or 2133 Mhz.

blasc

Reputable
Nov 21, 2014
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4460 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor ($175.88 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: ASRock H97 PRO4 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($75.98 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($39.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 850 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($89.49 @ OutletPC)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($50.89 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: Asus Radeon R9 390 8GB Video Card ($339.99 @ Amazon)
Power Supply: EVGA 750W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($74.99 @ NCIX US)
Total: $847.21
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2015-09-17 07:28 EDT-0400