Gaming PC as CAD Workstation.

1 BHP

Reputable
Sep 24, 2015
Hello, Community. This is my first post here.
I am an engineering student. I need a workstation for CAD programmes like SolidWorks, ANSYS etc. But the problem is Xeon processors, Quadro GPUs are too expensive and I can't afford them right now. To compensate this I chose following specification:

CPU: Intel i7 6700k
GPU: Asus GTX 960 4GB, DDR5
MOBO: Asus Maximus VIII Ranger ( For proper overclocking )
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 8GB, 2133 MHz ( Will upgrade to 16 GB)
COOLER: Corsair H100i GTX

My budget is 100k INR ( 1500 USD )

I'm not a professional designer. But will work as one after couple of months. I'm gonna work as designer for FSAE events. ( SW, ANSYS )
Will this workstation work perfectly fine for next 4-5 years?? Will it handle 2000-3000 parts assembly?? Is there anything I need to consider??
Atmospheric temperature variation 16 C- 40 C.

Ralston18

Titan
1 BHP,

There are no certain answers to your questions.

However, if you look at the system requirements/hardware requirements for the software applications you intend to use you can compare those specifications to the described workstation.

You might need some sort of stylus/pad to draw on.... Any 3D drawing requirements? 3D monitor?

Likewise for the software: Check the specifications but be aware that such specifications are often generated via ideal situations and some fluffy marketing. E.g., 2000-3000 parts assembly might be handled but you can only see one sub-assembly at a time and that may be limited to 100 parts. The entire assembly may not be completely visible all at the same time. Or in enough detail if so....

You may be able to run the software but the overall performance could be slow if you do not match or exceed some minimal level specification.

Be ready to decide what trade-offs you are willing to make with respect to hardware and software. And budget.