Upgrade to Windows 10? Best Internet/Web Browser?

Budget Gamer

Honorable
Jan 16, 2014
Hi! Been a while since I've been on this forum. I'm not very tech savvy and don't stay up to date with new releases, so please bear with me.

I just built my $1.5k rig last Thanksgiving for gaming and video editing. Just wondering if I would see any performance boosts (in any aspect) with switching from my current Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 (free upgrade) and getting a different web browser.

Again I haven't really researched into the "better" features any of the things have over the other nor am I aware of any problems with either, just looking for answers from those who do know a lot about these things.

No issues with Win8.1, but I think Win10 claims to be better/faster. I have asked around about this, but people say something about if you get Win10, that you lose all privacy and everything you do on the net is spied on, is this true? (I kind of think this has always been going on, just now it's in the fine print/agreement so it's "legal"). And I've heard about it having "beta bugs", but not sure what is or isn't still a issue.

Don't laugh at me, but even though I do gaming, I have used Internet Explorer since forever and still do right now haha. It's just always worked for me (and I normally don't trust new software, just a bit suspicious that they include fine print agreements contracts to collect and distribute your web browsing info), but I've never used another browser before so I am not sure if their speeds are way faster or any other features. I know Internet Explorer is extremely slow on twitch.tv and is nearly impossible to watch live streams (unless that is solely do to my bandwidth and download speeds?).

If it is advised to get Win10, I hear Microsoft Edge web browser (new IE) is integrated to go hand in hand with Win10 (Cortana?), so I suppose that might be the better combo?