Upgrading HDD + SSD Looking for help and suggestions!

Paulisus

Reputable
Nov 1, 2015
Hi guys, so I'm relatively new to the whole PC building process, and a few years ago I built my own budget Gaming rig, and so far it's held up pretty well. So here's my question...
I don't own a SSD yet and as all my friends & colleagues have strongly suggested I get one I thought I should look into buying one..

My Current Build consists of:
Motherboard Model: ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 (6 x SATA 3Gb/s port(s), blue (No SATA III))
Processor Name: AMD FX-8320
RAM : 8Gb's DDR3 (2x4Gb's 800.0 MHz (DDR3-1600 / PC3-12800))
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Drive Model & Controller : SAMSUNG HD103SI & Serial ATA 3Gb/s

Extra HWinfo : http://postimg.org/image/a21o960bx/

So I have a 1TB which I believe is Sata II currently, which is fairly old and simply not enough space, now I know SSD's generally don't have alot of space, but that's why I want to buy a 3TB HDD as well as a new SSD primarily for the OS boot speed and Maybe 1 or 2 games loading speeds, and have everything else shared between the 1 and the 3 HDD's. Is this a viable and sensible option?
And if so, what sizeable HDD's and Decent SSD's but not excessive priced's ones would you suggest to fit these roles in my current rig.

Bearing in mind I'm aware my motherboard is only SATA 2 and not 3. I hear most Sata 3's are backwards compatible for Sata 2 anyway, and at some point I would like to upgrade my motherboard to one with SATA 3 so I am also open to suggestions of that variety.

If you have any other suggestions for improvements on anything, like for example if im being bottle necked by something terrible which could certainly use an upgrade , please let me know, whether it be RAM, Processor, Motherboard, Graphics cards or My original ask, don't hesitate to let me know, all advice is welcomed! :D
And Thanks for your time!
(Discussion and solutions welcomed)