XFX R9 270X not displaying. First build. Help this noob out.

ItsMrNumb

Reputable
Jun 4, 2014
I've had this build fora couple months now and I have yet to get the Video Card to work. I believe that I installed the driver properly when I built it however when I tried to load the program tonight off of the disk it wouldn't even open. When I initially built this system I realized that I neglected hooking up the PCI-E connector on the card and that is why the fan was not turning. As it is my first build I was unsure, so I admit it was a noob builder mistake. However, I now have the GPU connected to the Mobo by one of the two PCI-E connectors and both fans are spinning so I know that it is getting power too it. I just would like some help trouble shooting this error as obviously since I payed just shy of $200 I would like to use it finally haha. I hook the HDMI up to my monitor and it shows no display found or something along those lines. however when I hook up my VGA to my MoBo I get a display. Is this a noob building error like I'm hoping it is? Or is there more depth to it?

Parts list- (Partial, rest of build can be found on my profile)
CPU- Intel Core i5-4460 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard- ASRock Z97 Extreme3 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
Memory- G.Skill Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Video Card- XFX Radeon R9 270X 2GB Double Dissipation Video Card
Case- NZXT Phantom 530 (White) ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply- XFX 550W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply
Operating System- Microsoft Windows 8.1 OEM (64-bit)
Monitor- LG 24EC53V​-P

ItsMrNumb

Reputable
Jun 4, 2014
Sorry guys, it was a noob mistake lmao. I reread this once I posted it and realized that since there is two PCI-E ports that both should probably be used haha. Just plugged in the other one and it now works. The screen is not fit to my monitor but I'm just going to assume that its because I have the HDMI running through an Elgato and I can sort it out later.

ItsMrNumb

Reputable
Jun 4, 2014