Where is Intel

JANDJMAM

Reputable
Nov 21, 2015
where did Intel go ? I have been building our workstation for more than 20 years and always used Intel MB and they always lasted. I just went to the Intel site and it looks like no desktop boards any more only server boards. I always went with above average units some times went with the extreme series when it called for bells and whistles. Can you recommend a new board mfg. to work with for the i7 and i5 CPU. socket can be 1150 but not sure the last one I did was 1155 socket Intel board dz77ga-70k.

JANDJMAM

Reputable
Nov 21, 2015

Well it's a general question for my company, some work stations I go with SSD'S ,blue ray recorders, raid drives
and vid cards and all must have sound and blue tooth. I just want to know what will be as reliable as Intel was with support and drivers before I get involved with a new company.You see with intel I would pick a board and then go to
the list of tested devices for that Board and PC and it was just easy for a dummy to build work stations Thay are always ATX form factor in mid tower cases for the desks..

Intel has not made too many boards for the modern generation of chips (LGA1150 and after) The older Z77 and LGA1155s boards are still around, but you are a couple of generations old now.

Are you located in the USA? Support will depend on your location and local suppliers.

Most of us on this site use boards from the major consumer manufacturers

ASRock
ASUS
Gigabyte
MSI

You might want to look at the current generation, with the LGA 1151 socket.

Just for reference, here's what my students at school do.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-2625445/build-log-consolidated-middle-school-builds.html

JANDJMAM

Reputable
Nov 21, 2015

JANDJMAM

Reputable
Nov 21, 2015
Thank you so much for the links when I have some down time I will go through them all. The only question I have is the mfg. you are using like arock ( I think)