I’m a small home builder Looking to boost Sales

AsRockKid

Reputable
Sep 28, 2015
I’m a small home builder. I’ve been working on my own home machines since 2001. I’ve made great progress in the past 2 years and have custom-built and sold machines. I’ve had good success at that and at fixing/recycling old equipment that comes in the door. For the past 2 years I’ve studied Wikiversity IT Fundamentals to prepare me for taking the test for A+ COMTIA IT Fundamentals Certification in early- to midsummer 2016.
Making progress in sales all on my own has been painfully slow. Are there quality places/organizations out there with the sales infrastructure to act as an agent/middleman for someone like me to wholesale to or work for? I really have a passion for this type of work, and I’m looking to increase the volume of business that passes through my door.
I’d appreciate any ideas/suggestions from the community. Thanks in advance.

Ralston18

Titan
Understand that you wish to increase sales.

And it certainly appears that you have the background and skills to produce/provide quality systems.

But there are two immediate concerns:

1) How much additional capability do you have to build more systems - enough to double or triple current sales? Time, space?

2) Financially, can you really continue to manage the expenses and cash flow with respect to those higher sales?

Basically, any middle-man is going to cost you. Either via commission or just a straight up per month expense whether they sell anything or not. Commission expenses are high. Local consignment businesses around here are now asking for 40% of the selling price.

And you will lose control of the "ordering" process. Middle-man organizations are likely to make any promises necessary to make a sale - delivery dates, quantities, warranties. Especially if there are some wholesale requirements.