(Need Help) Thoughts on this my Gaming PC build

MetaPower

Reputable
Dec 1, 2015
Hello there, I've been thinking of building a gaming pc in one years time. My budgets around 1000$ (the lower price the better) and I think I've made a built that for todays gaming standards is decent and fits my price range however I just want to know other peoples thoughts on this build. I'm kind of new to this gaming pc stuff so I just want to be sure. Also I live in Canada so this is 1000$ CAN which is about 750$ USD. Also please keep in mind this build does not include an OS, cooling system, monitor, etc. This is just a working pc.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/M4ydZL

-you have an overclocking processor and a motherboard that doesn't have a power design to handle overclocks well. ASRock Z97M OC Formula is a good one if you want a decent overclock.

-your power supply is far too low quality. do some research on how to pick a psu. evga's b2 series and antec's earthwatts green are usually pretty affordable.

-if you do overclock, you have to replace the cooler that comes with the cpu. hyper 212 evo is a good budget one.

amir_1991

Reputable
Nov 1, 2014

I think more Ram will helps you, so I choose a 16GB ram and the price is for Canada:

PCPartPicker part list: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/bx2D99
Price breakdown by merchant: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/bx2D99/by_merchant/

CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($293.01 @ Vuugo)
Motherboard: Asus B85M-G R2.0 Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($89.25 @ Vuugo)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($95.98 @ Newegg Canada)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($57.23 @ DirectCanada)
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 970 4GB STRIX Video Card ($404.01 @ Vuugo)
Case: Zalman Z11 Plus ATX Mid Tower Case ($39.88 @ Canada Computers)
Power Supply: Thermaltake SMART 650W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($49.99 @ NCIX)
Total: $1029.35