Looking to start a business

flukz

Reputable
Feb 13, 2015
i recently bought a few server computers and i've been interested for a long time in starting my own company i feel very strongly that i could make something great, its been a dream of mine.
so I decided I would like to start my own computer business.
The plan would be to host services on servers such as cloud storage, web servers, and game servers off of used "older" servers that I can pickup relatively cheap.
I would also like to buy used hardware and broken computers to refurbish/ combine to make reliable machines to resale.
I'm a college student who has taken some business courses in the past and is currently a computer science major.
I guess my questions are
1) what sort of internet speeds would I need to pay for in order to host web servers/game servers (haven't really been able to find a good way to calculate each persons bandwidth usage for these things)
2) do you think I am likely to get customers as a small company with only three or four server computers?
3) do you think i am likely to make money doing these things?
4) do you have any suggestions for me?

1. Depends on how many customers you have, and how fast they want they data. Read: Expensive.
2. No. If I am a customer wanting to store data somewhere, I would not trust my data to a brand-new company (which won't be there next month), with slow connection, yet pay for that, when there are plenty of free options.
3. No. Read #2.
4. Sell these computers. Leave one for yourself to "play" with, if you are interested. Find another business opportunity.

This is actually something that I do as a side project so I can provide tons of insight.