Spend for Desktop, or Save for Laptop?

Arciones

Reputable
Jun 17, 2014
I am an American student, a sophomore in high school, and I've been wanting a better computer for a while. Considering the amount of time I spend on the computer for both academic and leisurely activities, I think the money that can be put into a new computer would be worth it. The computer I currently own is plain terrible, frustrating, and sluggish. It has pretty low hard drive space (70 GB), an extremely weak/old graphics card, and a relatively weak/old processor. (I don't feel the need to list the specific names of my specs because I've been told time and time again that they're garbage. However, if you do genuinely need to know them, just ask.) I feel anchored to "bad" games, I guess, because I simply can't run anything else. I'm interested in many, many games, but I'm stuck with stuff like flash games. On a side note, recently, I've been interested in graphics design with Photoshop. Funny enough, my computer can't smoothly run the free trial of Photoshop I downloaded a while back.

I have $850 in cash. I've been thinking: should I spend the money on hardware this upcoming Holiday to build a new computer, or should I wait until college comes more around the corner and purchase a laptop? I am quite nervous but also tempted; I've never spent anything near the magnitude of $850 and I feel like I can easily squander it and screw myself over. Should I purchase the parts this Holiday, and then bring the desktop to college in a couple years, instead of buying a laptop? Am I too early to be thinking about college finances? I'd like to hear some thoughts. Thanks in advance.

staste4290

Reputable
Nov 17, 2015