Budget 3-Monitor Setup?

rwoody

Honorable
Nov 13, 2015
I feel like this is a really stupid question, but I'm new to multi-monitor stuff, and I can't seem to find a clear explanation yet... What must I have for a 3-monitor setup? Now I'm not talking about the obvious stuff...I have a computer with a 4690K running with a GTX970. My GPU has a DVI port, HDMI port, and 3 displayports. I thought I heard something about needing at least one of the monitors to be on a displayport natively for it to work, so in my mind that means I need 3 identical monitors that have a displayport (since I don't want mismatched monitors). From what I'm seeing online, almost every monitor has HDMI and DVI, but only the really expensive ones seem to have displayport. Does this mean I need to spend $300+ per monitor to run Nvidia Surround? Are there any monitors under $200 that I can match up 3 of them to do this? I'm only looking for 1080p for the resolution. The BenQ EW2440L and Acer R240HY monitors are reasonably priced and have nice thin bezels, but neither have displayports. My head hurts.

You want to buy 3 IPS or IPS-like monitors, those lower end panels based on IPS such as AHVA, PLS, etc. You need the great viewing angles, otherwise you'll get color shift when looking at the two TN or VA monitors on the left and right.

Next you want is a monitor that has got VESA mount for a stand. You don't need to use only displayport, or one displayport, you can use all that are available to you. DVI-D, HDMI, DisplayPort are all digital, meaning they can't look any different in terms of picture quality.

It's entirely based on luck, whether or not you will get matching monitors or not. Most of the times, manufacturers use outsourced panels, so even after calibrating, they're impossible to match.