help needed with home network setup

suman007

Reputable
Jan 20, 2016
Dear visitors and geniuses,

I am Suman from Basel, Switzerland. I am a biologist with very less knowledge about computers or networking. However, being an enthusiast I scan through new technologies and try to learn the advantages and disadvantages.

I have a very minimal home-network setup right now with internet connection (500 Mbps download, 50 Mbps upload), UPC cablecom modem/Router (Hard disk memory: 500 GB, SmartCard: No (virtual smart card), Number of tuners: 6 (4 for parallel recordings), DOCSIS module: Puma 5, WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n, Frequency: 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz (parallel operation)). Sony Bluray player and smart LG TV are hooked to the router/modem through Ethernet cable. Since the router/Modem is also an access for the tv channels, it is connected to the TV with HDMI. Also the blue ray is connected to the tv via HDMI.

I have a large multimedia library currently on an external hard drive and I attach it to the TV via USB, whenever I want to see any movie or listen to songs.

I would like to improve my home network to be able to watch high definition movies, play songs, regular backup, photos etc. I would like to have high speed (highest possible) home network to enjoy my library which includes blueray rips as well. Also I would setup plex for streaming media with transcoding on at least 2-3 devices in parallel. I should mention at this point that I am willing to put the required finances to get the best setup available.

I just ordered QNAP TVS-871T-i7-16G: Quad-core Intel® Core™ i7-4790S 3.2GHz to store my media and use it as a plex server. Since I do not have enough Ethernet ports in the router, I am considering to buy a switch or new router. QNAP NAS has 2x 2 x 10 Gigabit Ethernet port which I would like to use for the traffic.