Computer keeps randomly Hard rebooting whilst playing games (and some programs)

Sithjjf

Reputable
Jan 27, 2016
Computer keeps randomly rebooting whilst playing games (and some programs)

(this is my first time posting on a forum page so sorry if i forget anything)
I recently bought some new parts for my pc, and ever since installation my pc has been hard rebooting randomly while playing games. I have windows 10 pro installed from my old build, and ive tried to reinstall windows but it keeps stopping at about 25% and saying "Windows could not reinstall, no changes were made"

The new parts i bought were:
Motherboard: GA-Z170X-GAMING 3
Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws V F4-2800c15d-8gvr DDR4 (8Gkit 2*4G)
CPU: Intel Core i5-6600K 3.5GHz 6MB LGA1151
Parts that i kept from my old build:
2xHHDs
650w PSU (cant remember which one and the sticker has been ripped off, but im pretty sure the brand was Corsair)
GPU: Nvidia GTX 560 TI 1G

Lutfij

Titan
What was your OS when you were in possession of your older parts? Did you manage to upgrade your older Microsoft OS to Windows 10? If so what was your hardware when you did so? Have you made sure your BIOS is up to date alongside all the necessary drivers for your device such as chipset and graphics card? Are you connected tot eh internet using your LAN port or a wireless adapter? Do the freezes occur when you're idling and when your surf the web? Can you state which games you've run to face this freezing issue?

You can run memtest86 for 10 passes and if there are no issues up to pass # 10 then your ram is fine. If the update to your GPU drivers has caused the issues then revert to last stable version of your Nvidia drivers. i.e if 361.43 has been causing the issues then revert to version 359.34.

If you're yet on a copy of Windows 10 then try a system restore if the issue cropped up after a mandatory Windows update and likewise you can try a repair install.

Sithjjf

Reputable
Jan 27, 2016