New Build/ New GPU Bad Performance

tywalker_

Reputable
Jan 28, 2016
Hey guys this is my first time posting here. I have just bought a new MSI R9 390 gpu, and I installed it and everything ran just fine. I was getting very respectable frame rates then I came home from work to play it and I turned on MGS:5 and boom, 15-25 fps. Didn't matter if I changed the resolution to the lowest possible setting or changed any settings otherwise.

I also tried tomb raider the night before and ultra everything at 60fps constant. Again, drops to about 15-25 fps.

I tried uninstalling the drivers and reinstalling. I unplugged the psu and plugged back in. I removed the gpu and then put it back in. Finally at wits end, I put in my older GPU a gtx 760, and it was getting better framerates than the new card.

I forgot to add. I ran MSI Afterburner as well, card topping out at about ~75c. So I doubt that heat is an issue. It is idling at about 45c.

I keep forgetting to add more specific information. The weirdest thing it is doing, by far, is when I run the Tomb Raider benchmark, it's averaging at about 56 fps. I am running on a 1440 monitor, so that's why the framerate is a bit lower than what it should be for this card.

I'm not sure what else to try. I'd appreciate any help. Thanks.

Fractal Design Define R4
Asus A97m Pro4
G. Skill Ram 16gb
750w Bronze plus PSU
I7 4770s

SkyMembrane

Honorable
Dec 23, 2015
I see that you checked your GPU temperature, and it isn't too high for the card. Did you check your CPU temperature though? While it may have been good before, the 390 has a much higher TDP(Thermal Design Power), at 275W, compared to the GTX760 with 170W. This means more heat generated, hotter ambient air in the case and lower cooling capabilities for your CPU, which is located above the GPU. (Hot air is less dense, so it goes up).