Career change: Back to college, or work on certifications?

_a3ch_

Reputable
Feb 10, 2016
Hello,

Sorry if this post sounds a bit lazy and too asky, but I would greatly appreciate some advice from people who either have done what I am doing, or just generally know whats up in the "real world".

I am wondering if it would make more sense to go back to school and get a degree in IT, or if I should go for some certifications. I have roughly 10 years experience in IT(only about 2 in a "on the job" capacity, the rest is just general exp) I am not a newb, nor am I a master I am somewhere a bit over a Geek Squad tech (sorry if you work for geek squad) I would say. Like I would confidently be able to do that job, but I wouldn't necessarily be confident setting up an entire server room. I would like to get my foot in the door someplace and just work up within the company or something along those lines, I am just not sure where to start.

If I go back to school, I can have it paid for by with my current job, but it will be at a much slower pace. Alternately I could just study and pay for various certs like the A+ or Net+ and just try and get a job that way.

Again, sorry for the apparent ineptitude. I would just like some advice :)

Thanks in advance.

Solution
Not pointless at all.

Just an interim step that may be more suitable for your current personal, home, work, financial situation, etc..

Not a full committment but progress. Gives you some flexibility if, after working for and earning an AS and some certs, you decide to make a change in your career path. Happens all the time.

The objective is to learn more and gain experience. If you pick a real, meaningful path of any sort to do so, then you win. Maybe not exactly what you want at first but more than if you do not even try.

Ralston18

Titan
Go back to school. Most likely you are beyond gaining any advantages with an A+ or Net+ (no disrepect to anyone having them).