Origin PC EON17-SLX Gaming Laptop First Look

Status
Not open for further replies.

warezme

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2006
It is more expensive than a small form factor box running a 980 without the built in keyboard screen of a laptop. It is aesthetically unattractive as a laptop but with desktop performance that makes it a hard sell to someone wanting a performance laptop. It is a niche product. I would rather have a Razer Blade with the 970m and small form factor mobo running a 980 than having to lug this around.

JamsCB

Honorable
Feb 11, 2016
Thanks for the write up. Very long time lurker, finally posting. When you start the reviews of gaming laptops, please include more portable options. I'm looking for a new gaming laptop now, but most articles I find for the "best gaming laptop" usually list the large "desktop replacement" style laptops. I'm a pilot, and on the road at least half the month, so I don't want something too big or heavy, yet I want one that is powerful. I'm also almost always near a plug if I'm actually gaming, so battery life while gaming isn't a huge concern. I'd appreciate it if you could include a few more reviews for the 15.6" and smaller, thin and light style of gaming laptops.

Au_equus

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2011
IMO the biggest point is missing. FPS and synthetics are to verify that performance is in the same neighborhood. The desktop CPU/GPU is in a VSFF package, ie, temperature and noise should be the main highlights.

FritzEiv

Honorable
Dec 9, 2013
JamsCB: Thanks for this input. We're doing First Looks on a variety of laptops, including ones like you've described, but we're looking for what people eventually want more of. I suspect it's variety, and we'll try to look at all ranges and choices.

Au_equus: We agree. These First Looks don't have that level of testing as noted in the top of the article, but we will be doing that in our reviews, so stay tuned.

alphax45

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2006