I built a desktop but nothing is showing up on the screen when I turn the computer on.

Feb 15, 2016
Hi,

This is my first time building a computer by the way so if you could please explain things as if I didn't know anything, then that would be appreciated. I checked the manual but it has no explanation for this issue. I really appreciate any clarification you can provide. The computer definitely turns on and I can see many components definitely working when it is on. I'm using an hdmi cable that connects to an LED TV.

Some extra details:

I'm using a Gigabyte GAZ170 UD5 Motherboard in a Carbide 200R series case. The CPU is an Intel 6600k processor. The battery works (its an EVGA Supernova 750 B2).

Thank You,
God's Neglected Idiot

Feb 15, 2016
I've physically installed the CPU (Intel 6600k), Cooling Fan, RAM (16 GB 3200 DDR4), Graphics Card (Sapphire r9 380 compact), Battery, SSD, Optical Drive, and of course the motherboard. It can technically support Thunderbolt but you need an additional card for that. I tried plugging the HDMI into my GPU port but it still shows nothing even though the GPU is working.

Feb 15, 2016
Per your suggestion I checked the RAM. They are in the DDR1 and 3 slots (which are consecutive slots) and are part of channel B. Do they need to be part of channel A? I tried taking out the RAM in the DDR3 slot but no dice unfortunately. Is it possible the motherboard is defective? I just read that some people were complaining about this exact issue with this motherboard.

I have no idea what slots they should be in. The manual will say what slots you should install 2 sticks in

Do you have the gaming 7 mobo?.

The other one I posted does have TB onboard

I cant see a mobo with GAZ170 UD5 in it except for the TH and the Gaming 7

Thank You,
God's Neglected Idiot

Lol.....at least you figured it out. Most of us haven't figured out we are idiots yet.