HD 5870 Two Way Crossfire Power Supply Question

Pirs01

Commendable
Feb 15, 2016
Hello,

Hardware noob here.

I am looking to upgrade my old ass system with new gpus and have a number of restrictions:

1. Budget - it's low.
2. Mobo chipset - AMD 790GX. According to this chart HD 5970 is the highest I could go if wanted to Crossfire.
3. PSU output - Corsair VX550W.

Based on my research I decided my best option is to get 2 HD 5870. Based on this chart and this benchmark I should be looking at a performance somewhat comparable to that of R9 280X or GTX 690. The 5870 are a pretty good value.

They are perfect fit - almost. The official spec says 600W supply recommenced for running 2 of them.

I am hopping to spend around 110$ for two cards so if I had to replace PSU for bigger one then my total cost would double or worse. I'm not willing to invest that much in this 7 years old machine.

TL;DR - So here are my questions:

1. With 600W recommended what are the chances it will run with my Corsair VX550W?
2. If it won't can I make it work by underclocking the cards?
3. If so then how much lower do you suppose I would have to go and is it still worth it?
4. Is it safe to try this setup with PSU potentially lacking the necessary power?

If I cannot or should not go Crossfire then I was thinking something like SAPPHIRE TOXIC HD 6950 which would be significantly weaker (3177 score for non - OC version) compared to two two 5870 (about 5200 score minus the Crossfire overhead). On plus side it should be even cheaper, it's a single card (I like that fullscreen windowed mode) and has 2 Gigs of memory. Other suggestions are very welcome.

5. What would you guys recommend?

Thanks!

That's an absolutely stupid idea. Just get the 280X/380 or even an overclocked 960, crossfire is a last resort, and anything less than a 7950 is pointless now that DX12 is around the corner. Hell, just get a 260/360 if you're on a budget

Pirs01

Commendable
Feb 15, 2016