2-way SLi, 3 monitors, UWQHD

bytemunchr

Commendable
Feb 15, 2016
Hello all!
I have some questions that I can't seem to find a definitive answer to,

I currently have 2 EVGA GTX970 FTW's installed driving a Gsync Acer x34 Predator (3440x1440) at 100hz with a DisplayPort Cable.

So I'm also a programmer, and I love having plenty of screen real estate when working, but I also like to game. So I'm looking to buy two additional monitors, and apparently you're unable to daisy chain Gsync monitors. So what I'm probably going to go with is 2x Acer XF270HU (2560x1440) at 144hz, which happens to be a Freesync panel that I'll be running with Dual Link DVI-D, as I only have a single DisplayPort per card and two DVI-D ports available (as well as an HDMI 2.0 port) on my "master" GTX970.

I have a few questions:

Do you see any issue with the above config? What would be my best bet for a 3-monitor surround with one UWQHD and two support monitors with the same resolution (1440p) but different refresh rates? (144hz + 100hz + 144hz)

Do all displays still need to be plugged into the same card for SLi to work with this generations 900 series cards? I know Crossfire requires this, but I'm not sure about Nvidia... I've heard conflicting reports.

Apparently SLi only works with 2 monitors, yet I had 3+1 Samsung S24C750P 24-Inch 1920x1080 all on the same card running with SLi enabled and had no issues, why is this? Would it work the same with my new monitors?

At that resolution on these two new monitors, 2560x1440, what refresh rate would I be getting out of a Dual Link DVI-D? I know I won't be utilizing the Freesync capabilities since it wont be using DisplayPort, but I'd still like to get the best I can over DVI-D, (or even potentially HDMI 2.0, if that's an option)