VR Desktop Build vs Oculus Bundle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

OminousD

Reputable
Aug 24, 2014
I'm planning on building my first desktop later down the line this year and my primary goals for the build are:
a) That it's VR ready
b) Has at least 16GB RAM
c) Cumulatively below $1000 (including monitors, mouse, and keyboard)
I've been using a gaming laptop for the past 3 years to serve as my workstation and gaming platform, but it has aged very quickly in terms of gaming standards. I've done a lot of research in the past few months on desktop builds and compiled a build on pcpartpicker.com below.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4590 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor ($189.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: ASRock H97M-ITX/AC Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard ($88.98 @ Newegg)
Memory: Kingston HyperX Fury Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($64.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($49.89 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 4GB WINDFORCE 3X Video Card ($299.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Cooler Master Elite 130 Mini ITX Tower Case ($32.99 @ Micro Center)
Power Supply: EVGA 400W ATX Power Supply ($20.98 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($15.99 @ Newegg)
Monitor: Asus VX228H 60Hz 21.5" Monitor ($109.99 @ Newegg)
Monitor: Asus VX228H 60Hz 21.5" Monitor ($109.99 @ Newegg)
Keyboard: Logitech K120 Wired Standard Keyboard ($11.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Mouse: Cobra E-3lue Wired Optical Mouse ($8.90 @ Amazon)
Total: $1004.67
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2016-03-01 00:03 EST-0500

I mainly want to gauge:
a) Whether this is a good value (or if I can cut the price further)
b) if it has decent upgradeability
c) How it compares to the likes of the Oculus Bundled ASUS G11CD-WS51
(http://www.amazon.com/Oculus-Rift-Ready-G11CD-WS51-Desktop-Bundle/dp/B01BHFI4XG)