Sign in with
Your question

œ✯ Under $1200 : Building a desktop for MUSIC PRODUCTION ✯

Last response: in CPUs
November 14, 2009 5:45:26 PM

:hello:  I'm planning on building a Desktop PC for under $1200 (+ or - $200). The purpose is STRICTLY for music production. I'm not even going to put the internet on this (I will have a separate PC for surfing the internet/music, etc).

I'm very new to computers and hardware and I'm trying to learn as much as I can so I can make the best choices possible.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Everything will be bought before Christmas. Budget: under $1200 (+ or - $200).

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Strictly for music production...No internet, no music, no movies, etc

PARTS NOT REQUIRED I already have a SOUND CARD. I have an Echo Mia Midi.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: www.Ebay.com, www.newegg.com, www.craigslist.org (whichever one has the cheapest price with a quality product that's not refurbished)

PARTS PREFERENCES: I've heard that INTEL and AMD are the best (leaning toward INTEL, but open minded to AMD). I've also heard that ASUS makes good products, but I'm still very open minded. I want something with good ratings by consumers.

Here are the specs I am leaning towards:

RAM: 8 GB RAM (I'm not sure about DDR2 or DDR3. I've heard most people say there is no point to switch over to DDR3 right now)
PROCESSOR: 2.6-3.0 GHz

OVERCLOCKING: no

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Not too knowledgeable in this area

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
The computer doesn't need to be extremely quiet because I don't have a microphone, but I don't want it to be loud because in the future I might start recording. So a moderate quietness is preferred, but defineately one of the least of my worries.

- I don't need Firewire (my soundcard is PCI so no need for firewire and I don't plan on getting a firewire soundcard).
- At least 1 eSATA port
- At least 3 USB ports
- no integrated video cards
- no integrated sound cards (if possible)