Help picking CPU and MOBO for budget gaming P.C.

Courage the Dog

Commendable
Mar 18, 2016
Hello! This is my first time posting. If this question is posted in the wrong place or if there is any other concerns with it please let me know and I will take care of it.

I am currently attempting to put together a budget P.C. to play some more modern titles like Metal Gear Solid V and The Witcher 3; and some upcoming titles like Dark Souls 3, Overwatch, and ReCore. My hope is to have them run smoothly on a 1920 x 1080 screen.

For the time being I was going to use a case, power supply, and graphics card I ready have. I have a Geforce GTX 750 Ti graphics card and plan to purchase 8 gigs of RAM.

The chips I was debating between were the i3 4170 and the i5 3570(k). I would most likely purchase from eBay and do not mind getting used hardware. The i3 would probably cost me $100-$110 and the i5 would probably cost $130. I know the i3 have less cores, but has the hyperthreading, higher mhz, and is on a newer architecture. I wasn't sure if these benefits outweighed the capabilites of the older i5. I would also be open to other CPU suggestions, but please consider that $130 is already pushing what I want to spend.