Moving Data and Windows 10 to a new computer.

xwickedywacko

Reputable
Mar 15, 2016
I know similar problems have been solved in other threads and other forums but I just want to be sure and learn the best way to go about this as I am a noob. I built my own pc a little while back. I bought a retail copy of Windows 8.1 and recently used my free upgrade to Windows 10. I have Windows 10 installed on a 120gb SSD. I have a 500gb and a 1tb hard drive for mass storage for things like steam games.

I recently decided to upgrade some of my parts and my friend decided to build his first computer and so he's buying my "old" parts. I got a new motherboard, a new CPU, and new ram (my friend bought all my old parts). My first question is, is there a way to salvage that retail copy of Windows whether we can put it on my new hardware or give it to my friend on the original hardware (except I'm keeping all of my storage devices so I don't know if that will work).

If I have to buy 2 new copies it wouldn't be the end of the world but I'd rather not have to. Question 2, what is the best way to move my storage devices to my new hardware. I don't have a ton of important files but I would like to try to save as much data as I can. I would at least want to transfer my save game data for steam.

Quick side question I can re-download my steam games on my new computer right (I ask because I thought your steam games were tied to your computer/hardware). That's honestly the most important thing to save is all my data needed to play my steam games on my new computer/hardware without losing any progress or anything in my games.