Games play only at 30fps in a 4k tv set at 1080p

peterjam

Reputable
Jun 17, 2014
Hi everyone,
So I'm having a small problem. I used to have my PC connected to a 1080p tv, but I recently bought a 4k one and changed it, so now the desktop resolution is set at 3840x2160. I like to game a lot, but I preffer my games to run at 60fps, so when I started playing a game I decided to set the resolution to 1920 x 1080. I started playing the witcher 3 expansion but noticed that it ran at only 30fps when it used to run at 60, and I was using the same settings I used before. I found out that by turning off V-Sync the game runs at a steady 60, but there is a lot of screen tearing. If I turn V-Sync back on, the game drops to a steady 30.
After some tinkering, I found out that if I exited to windows and changed the system resolution to 1920 x 1080 (which kinda sucks, because then the desktop icons are huuuge even when set to a small size), then the game runs smooth as butter at 60fps, with V-Sync turned on. I tried other games that I hadn't played in a while, like Arkham Knight and Layers of Fear and a couple of others, and the exact same thing happened.
Now my question is this, do I have to change my windows resolution to 1080p everytime I want to play a game so that it can run smoothly, or is there anything I can do to solve this problem?
Thanks a lot in advance.

Solution
Don't worry, I found the solution, for some reason windows was set to 30Hz in the 4k resolution, so all I did was right-click on my desktop, click on screen resolution, then on advanced settings, monitor, and changed the screen refresh rate to 60Hz, and boom!! problem solved. The game runs at a steady 60fps, just as before, and now even the mouse cursor on the desktop is more responsive.

Thanks a lot