Laptop is too slow for my needs. What hardware should I upgrade?

Glockye

Commendable
Apr 16, 2016
I am a photographer and in post processing I always switch between 3-4 programs like Photoshop, Lightroom, etc. I often have to wait for the program to become responsive again after switching back to it and it really slows me down. My specs:
HP 620
Celeron (R) Dual-Core CPU T3100 1.90GHz
2 GB RAM

Mobile Intel (R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family Graphics Card.

So, what do I need to upgrade to be able to switch between programs and start working right away? Also, when there is high pixel density (DPI) or many layers photoshop really lags. Is it the graphics card?
Ps: I don't want a blazing fast pc, I just want to be able to work fast on it :)

It's a bit at odds not wanting a fast pc but wanting to be able to work fast on it. That's what a fast pc enables, the ability to work faster. The type of work you're trying to do might be a bit tough for many laptops compared to a desktop though if you absolutely need it to be a laptop for mobility reasons (desktops aren't very portable) it can be done. Not with your current laptop though.

You're currently using an 8yr old cpu and it was low end back then (the celerons were low budget chips). 2gb of ram isn't enough for those tasks. I'd recommend at least 8gb and preferably 16gb of ram, an ssd and a modern quad core cpu or fast i3 which is dual core but at least has hyper threading. Newer cpu's have much higher performance in the core i series compared to old pentiums and celerons.