Unable to Install Windows 10 using USB Drive

brendz1993

Honorable
May 1, 2015
Hi Folks,

Can someone help me on my problem?

I downloaded a windows 10 iso this past weekend and created a bootable usb using Rufus app. The USB booted up but when i was on the step wherein i need to choose where will i install the OS, there's an error that says windows cant be installed on that drive because its in MBR partition and it should be on GPT partition. This is my first time installing an OS using a USB drive. I searched forums in the net but the only thing i saw was the differences between MBR and GPT not on how to install windows if I encountered this kind of problem.

My HDD is a Seagate 500GB 7200rpm and my board is an Asus B85M-G which supports UEFI BIOS.

Appreciate your help.

Solution
a blank ssd isn't in any format so it should be fine. Having said that, neither is a HDD with unallocated space.

Have you tried running the install with just the hdd in and not choosing the custom route? it should just install.

The only other thought is your bios is set to legacy boot when it should be UEFI or Auto, that would be only other place windows would be getting info about drive format. In my case, when i had hassles getting pc to accept an install on my ssd, i just turned pc off and tried again later and it worked. If Bios set to auto (instead of UEFI or Legacy) then it just switches over itself. I don't actually know where it is in the Asus UEFI, expect its in the boot menu (hiding in advanced settings)

But the bios...

brendz1993

Honorable
May 1, 2015
I tried formatting it first before I encounter the error. However, when I clicked on the unallocated space, the "Delete" option is grayed out and so the others. I tried Pressing Windows key+F10 as stated in the tutorial pasted above but the command prompt didn't show up. Should i buy a new hdd to resolve this (though i'm planning to buy an ssd this weekend)

Thanks you so much for your help

Colif

Win 11 Master