Windows 10 Corrupted + BSOD + Reinstall + A day of terror

Krish931

Reputable
May 10, 2016
So this is actually one big problem split into several smaller ones. I have no clue what or why this happened, but I can recount the sequence of events leading up to this misery. Chronologically here's what happened:

1. Ordered new Samsung 850Pro 128GB SSD - delivered yesterday - installed and configured without a hitch - working fine;

2. I'm an architecture student and use several CAD programs like Revit and ArchiCAD for my design work, besides PS and InDesign for the presentation and layout making. Yesterday, after installing the SSD, I uninstall and reinstall ArchiCAD on the SSD to leverage performance benefits (if any) - work continues;

3. Have to render a plan at 1920x1080, using the integrated Cinema4D renderer that comes inbuilt in ArchiCAD 18 - render begins - medium settings for everything - around 15 minutes in, ArchiCAD freezes (nothing new, keeps happening, fix is to kill process in taskmgr and restart ArchiCAD) - did so, tried rendering again - Bam! BSOD (system_service_exception);

4. Reboot and run sfc /scannow on elevated command prompt - greeted with windows resource protection finding corrupt files and being unable to fix - restarted in safe mode with command prompt and tried again - same result - ran DISM - same result;

5. *slightly uneasy now* - try rebooting normally to save data - here's where all hell broke loose: got past screen that prompts hitting Del or F8 to enter BIOS (don't remember what that's called) and stops at motherboard logo with rotating dots.

6. Half an hour gone by, still no boot.

7. *panic sets in* - desperation caused me to try and retrieve my data using a live Ubuntu DVD lying around and changing boot orders to CD/DVD drive first. Didn't work (obviously);