I'm looking to upgrade my PC. Suggestions and help are appreciated.

GigatX

Commendable
May 17, 2016
The title speaks for itself. I currently have:
GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 970 CPU: Intel i5 4690k Motherboard: MSI Z97 PC MATE RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury Red 4 x 4GB Case: Zalman Z11 ATX Mid Tower PSU: Corsair CX 750W Monitor: LG 24MN43D 24-inch 1920x1080p TV Monitor

So I've been thinking of upgrading my PC by changing some parts. I was thinking of waiting for the 1080 GTX (or 1070 GTX) to launch, and for the i7 6700k to drop down in price after the 6800k gets released to buy them. Along with that a new motherboard and DDR4 RAM.

Another option would probably be to overclock my CPU and get an SSD instead of upgrading. I haven't overclocked because I've never done it before although I feel like I will benefit quite a lot if I bump it up to say 4.2-4.3 with the right cooler. I have read forums and guides on the subject but it's still new territory for me so I don't want to rush in.

I'm kinda thinking of also switching monitors since mine is a TV not a PC monitor. And while it's perfectly fine for 60 FPS 1920x1080 and I haven't had any problems with it I'd love to push past 60 FPS (esp. for some shooters like Overwatch!). I could just get a second 120 or 144 Hz monitor and do a dual setup.

My main goal is to push past 60 FPS (aiming for the 100's) in most AAA games at high/max settings. I would really love to hear from more experienced people than me (since this is my first and only PC build so far). Should I upgrade or go with overclocking?