Becoming a software engineer

helmethelmet

Commendable
May 18, 2016
I'm reading a book about software engineering...
I think that this book could make me a software engineer, which would be great.

I know a little C, C++, Java, DBMS (mysql), Linux, etc. I don't know much UML, Patterns Design, etc.
I was reading a book about PHP for web development, and I thought a little, and I decided to read about software engineering.

I want to say I'm just a autodidact student.
I can't enter to the university this year, but a have a lot energy and time.

So I want your opinions, suggestions, comments, good books, etc.

Thanks in advanced.

Solution
ONE book won't make you a software engineer. To have that title, most employers will require a bachelors degree. It could be a computer science degree, math degree, or other hard science degree. You have to know how to communicate, work in a team, be logical, be thorough... to be a software engineer. Writing code is a small part of the job. Writing documents, power point, and excel are just as important. Understanding what a requirement is and what isn't a requirement is important. Understanding how to test systems (or modules) to verify requirements. SO much more than one book....

Here are a couple, that I found especially enlightening "The Practice of Programming", "Writing Solid Code"

kanewolf

Titan
ONE book won't make you a software engineer. To have that title, most employers will require a bachelors degree. It could be a computer science degree, math degree, or other hard science degree. You have to know how to communicate, work in a team, be logical, be thorough... to be a software engineer. Writing code is a small part of the job. Writing documents, power point, and excel are just as important. Understanding what a requirement is and what isn't a requirement is important. Understanding how to test systems (or modules) to verify requirements. SO much more than one book....