Workstation/Gaming - Planning a build 2000-3000 €

gantzz

Commendable
Jun 16, 2016
Sup' everyone,
I'm a freelance 3D Artist and also love playing games. My current PC (just so you know where I'm coming from) which I build about 3 Years ago is slowly dragging me down for both purposes:
Intel i7-2600K
Asus p6z68-v pro gen3
16 GB Ram
Evga GTX-570 HD (an MSI GTX 1070 Gaming is already on it's way because playing games with the gtx-570 is already nearly impossible)
Samsung 830 320GB SSD

First of all, I'm planing on building up a new machine but It's not urgent or let's say it will happen in about 2-3 months.
I still would like to hear your thoughts on this today since I didn't stay up to date when it comes to recent hardware generations as much and you guys know much more about it all anyway.
Also, maybe you know that something, worth waiting for even longer is just around the corner.

1. Budget/Location

The budget would be something around 2.000 € but it's rather flexible and if it makes sense could go up to 3.000 €.
I don't need a craphics card since I already ordered a GTX 1070 and plan on puting it into the new workstation once I build it up.
Also things like new monitors etc. are not needed for now.
I live in Germany.

2. Aim
What I need the workstation for: I'm working mainly (70% of the time) with Autodesk 3D's Max + Vray creating 3D visualisations. Besides that some Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign and a bit Premiere/After Effects.
As for games mainly shooters, such as BF3, Homefront the Revolution and new ones to come...

For my work CPU power, and especially the number of cores/threads as well as sufficient RAM (32+ GB) is most essential.
GPU rendering can be helpful for progressive rendering while setting up lighting etc but it's not that important in my case. That is also why I definitely do not need a Quadro or FirePro (those won't allow much gaming anyway).