Second monitor staying in standby - not detected - sometimes

eeahfeeam

Commendable
Jul 8, 2016
Hi, I've had no end of issues with windows 10 after an upgrade from windows 7 (which I had little issues with). When starting windows 10 the first boot, my second monitor is not detected (it remains in standby) but when I restart the computer (sometimes) it will then detect the second monitor (during bootup - the little blue windows icon thinggy). Or, if when I'm in windows (after not being detected) if I unplug the DVI-D cable to the second monitor and plug it back in, it will detect the monitor fine and bring it out of standby.

When its detected the monitor, and I restart windows it detects it fine again when it boots into windows, even if I leave my computer off for a couple of minutes, its fine, but if I leave it off for 15 to 20 mines and turn it on again, same problem... it won't detect the monitor again.

I have a Syncmaster 2233RZ on a dual link DVI-D and a Viewsonic VX2239 on a single link DVI-D (this is the one with the issue)

I've used DDU and uninstalled all the graphics drivers and reinstalled the latest ones and I'm still getting the same issue. I know there are various issues with second monitors not being detected but these normally appearing (and greyed out) in the real screen resolution thing from the control panel but my second one isnt (it doesn't detect it if I click the detect button either). I have the latest 368.69 driver installed.

System Specs:

Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 965
Deneb 45nm Technology

RAM
16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 669MHz (9-9-9-24)

Motherboard
MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.LTD 790FX-GD70(MS-7577) (CPU1)

Graphics
VX2239 SERIES (1920x1080@60Hz)
SyncMaster (1680x1050@60Hz)
4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (Gigabyte)

Storage
1863GB Seagate ST2000DM001-9YN164 ATA Device (SATA)
931GB Hitachi HDS721010CLA332 ATA Device (SATA)
698GB Hitachi HDT721075SLA380 ATA Device (SATA)

Optical Drives